Hossein Gharib, M.D., M.A.C.P., M.A.C.E.

ACE Yank D. Coble, JR., M.D., Distinguished Service Award

Hossein Gharib, MD, MACP, MACE, is currently Professor of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Consultant in the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, Metabolism and Nutrition, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota.

Dr. Gharib, a native of Iran, earned his undergraduate degree from Ohio State University, his medical degree from University of Michigan Medical School, and completed his internal medicine residency and endocrinology fellowship at Mayo Clinic. He joined Mayo Clinic staff in 1972, and after a brief stay in Iran, returned to Mayo where he was promoted to the rank of Professor of Medicine in 1994.

Dr. Gharib is as an international authority on thyroid disorders.  During an active investigative career spanning four decades, he has authored or coauthored more than 250 academic papers including peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceeding papers, scientific meeting abstracts, reviews and book chapters.  He has lectured at more than 300 regional, national, or international endocrine events, and has served on the editorial boards of major journals including Endocrine Practice, Thyroid, JCEM, US Endocrinology, and Acta Endocrinologia(Romania).  He has coedited two endocrine textbooks, Evidence-Based Endocrinology andEndocrinology & Diabetes: A Problem Oriented Approach.  He is a contributing editor of www.Endotext.com, an online endocrine reference source.

Dr. Gharib is a Master of the American College of Physicians (M.A.C.P.) and a Master of the American College of Endocrinology (M.A.C.E.).   He has been the recipient of many national and international awards, including the prestigious Paul Starr Award of the American Thyroid Association, the International Clinician Award of the Associazione Medici Endocrinologi, the Laureate Award of Mayo Clinic Department of Medicine, the Distinguished Physician Award of the Endocrine Society, and the Ellis Island Medal of Honor Award.

Dr. Gharib served as the President of the AACE in 2002, as the President of American College of Endocrinology in 2008, and has been the Dean of the Endocrine University since 2002. He is currently the President of the American Thyroid Association.