Board of Directors

  • David S. H. Bell, MD, FACP, MB, FACE

    Dr. David S. H. Bell is a native of Northern Ireland where he graduated from Queen's University Medical School.  His endocrine training was at the Royal Victoria Hospital Belfast, N. Ireland, University of Saskatchewan Canada and Greater Baltimore Medical Center and Johns Hopkins.  Following his training, he was an Associate Professor of Medicine at Temple University Medical School for two years and a Professor of Medicine for 25 years at the University of Alabama Medical School.  He currently is a practicing endocrinologist in Mountain Brook, AL.

  • Elise M. Brett, MD, FACE, ECNU
    Associate Clinical Professor, Icahn School of Medicine, Mount Sinai; Private Practice in Endocrinology and Metabolic Support

    Dr. Elise Brett completed her undergraduate education at the University of Michigan.  She received her medical degree from Mount Sinai School of Medicine. She completed her internal medicine residency and fellowship in endocrinology and metabolism at The Mount Sinai Hospital.  She continued to practice as a voluntary attending at Mount Sinai hospital and is currently Associate Clinical Professor at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. She is in private practice specializing in endocrinology and metabolic support. She is board certified in endocrinology and metabolism.

  • Michael A. Bush, MD
    Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine, Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA; Private Practice, Beverly Hills, CA

    Dr. Michael Bush is a practicing endocrinologist in Beverly Hills, California.  He received his BA from Columbia University and his MD degree from the University of Southern California.  He trained as a Medical Resident at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center and as a Research and Clinical Fellow in Endocrinology at Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts General Hospital, where his research interest was in insulin action studying protein phosphorylation in isolated adipose and muscle cells.

  • Felice A. Caldarella, MD, FACP, CDE, FACE
    2017-2018 Secretary

    Dr. Felice Caldarella was raised in Brooklyn, New York.  He is a graduate of New York University. He received his medical degree from the SUNY Upstate Medical University in Syracuse, New York. He completed his Internal Medicine Residency at Brown University in Rhode Island.  Dr. Caldarella then went on to receive subspecialty training in Endocrinology at UMDNJ in Newark, New Jersey. He is also a Certified Diabetes Educator.

  • Vivian A. Fonseca, M.D., F.A.C.E.

    Vivian A. Fonseca, MD, FACE, is Professor of Medicine, the Tullis–Tulane Alumni Chair in Diabetes, and Chief of the Section of Endocrinology at Tulane University Medical Center in New Orleans, Louisiana.  He is a Past President for Science and Medicine of the American Diabetes Association.  He has served extensively in the clinical practice of Endocrinology, research and education, as well as a volunteer and leader in Professional Organizations.  He currently serves on the Endocrinology section of the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM).

  • W. Timothy Garvey, M.D., F.A.C.E.
    2017-2018 Board of Directors

    Chair of the University of Alabama at Birmingham’s (UAB) Department of Nutrition Sciences and Director and Principal Investigator of the UAB Diabetes Research Center since 2008, Dr. Timothy Garvey has extensive experience in the academic health sciences as a scientist, administrative leader and an educator.

  • Richard A. Haas, M.D., F.A.C.E.
    Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Massachusetts Medical School

    Dr. Richard Haas has been a member of the Diabetes Division of the UMass Memorial Medical Group since November of 2012. Prior to joining UMass, he had been in solo private practice of endocrinology in Worcester, MA for thirty years. After attending medical school at the University of California San Francisco, he completed an internal medicine residency at the Mount Sinai Medical Center in New York City and then a fellowship in endocrinology at the Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center, also in New York.

  • Daniel L. Hurley, M.D., F.A.C.E.
    2017-2018 Vice President

    Dr. Daniel L. Hurley is the current AACE Vice President and a member of the AACE Executive Committee. He has also served two prior consecutive three-year terms on the AACE Board of Directors, as well as serving on multiple AACE/ACE committees to include Finance Committee chair, Program Planning Committee member and past Co-Chair for the AACE Clinical Congress, member and past Chair of the Nutrition Scientific Committee, past Chair of the Academic Endocrinologists Committee, and past Chair of the Chapters Committee. Dr.

  • Mark A. Lupo, M.D., F.A.C.E., E.C.N.U.

    Dr. Mark Lupo is a practicing endocrinologist in Sarasota, Florida.  He received his BA fromDuke University and his MD degree from the University of Florida.  He trained as a Medical Resident at the University of Florida and a Clinical Fellow in Endocrinology at Scripps Clinic and the University of California at San Diego.

  • Janet B. McGill, M.D., F.A.C.E.
    2017-2018 Board of Directors

    Dr. Janet McGill is Professor of Medicine in the Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Lipid Research at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Missouri, and attending physician at Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis.   She directs the Fellowship in Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism and is the recent past Director of the Prevention and Control Core of the Diabetes Research and Training Center at Washington University School of Medicine.  Dr.